LibGuides: LUCOM Library: OMS I Course Guides

OMS I: Fall

LWW Health Library
The LWW Health Library is your portal to trusted Lippincott content—including our most commonly required textbooks and multimedia assets—for use in medical sciences programs
Nature
Nature Publishing Group (NPG) is a publisher of high impact scientific and medical information in print and online. NPG publishes journals, online databases, and services across the life, physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine.

Required & Recommended Texts

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Clinically Oriented Anatomy	9th	Arthur F. Dalley & Anne M. R. Agur	2021	Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy
Larsen's Human Embryology	6th	Schoenwolf, Bleyl, Brauer and Francis-west	2020	Larsen's Human Embryology
Atlas of Human Anatomy	8th	Netter	2022	Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy
Anatomy: A Photographic Atlas	9th	J W Rohen, C Yokochi, E Lutjen- Drecoll	2022	QS 17 R55 2022
Atlas of Anatomy	4th	Gilroy, et al.	2020	Atlas of Anatomy
Board review Series: Gross Anatomy	10th	Nancy L Haliday, Harold M Chung	2023	QS 18.2 C54 2024
Board review Series: Embryology	6th	Ronald W Dudek	2014	QS 618.2 D845e 2014
Primer of Diagnostic Imaging	6th	Harisinghani, Chen, and Weissleder	2020	Primer of Diagnostic Imaging
Grant's Dissector	18th	Alan J. Detton	2020	Grant's Dissector

AccessMedicine
A collection of 90 medical e-books, quick reference content, multimedia content, self-assessment tools and more.
ClinicalKey
Clinical search engine that adapts to any screen size, helping you find fast answers and deep evidence from more than 1,000 full-text reference books, 600 full-text journals, videos, images and more.
Thieme MedOne Education
73 Textbooks and color atlases in anatomy, medicine, and the life sciences.
Visible Body
A 3-D human anatomy atlas.

Required Textbooks

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
High-Yield Q&A Review for USMLE Step 1: Biochemistry and Genetics		M. W. King	2023	High-Yield Q&A Review for USMLE Step 1: Biochemistry and Genetics
Emery’s Elements of Medical Genetics	16th	P. Turnpenny, S. Ellard	2022	Elements of Medical Genetics
Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology	3rd	M.P. Blaustein, J.P.Y. Kao, D.R. Matteson	2020	Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology
Cardiovascular Physiology Concepts	3rd	R. Klabunde	2022	WG 102 K553 2022
West’s Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials	11th	West and Luks	2021	WF 102 W518 2020
Gastrointestinal Physiology	9th	L. Johnson	2019	Gastrointestinal Physiology
Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology	5th	BA White, JR, Harrison, LM Mehlmann	2018	Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology
Guyton and Hall Physiology Review	4th	J.E. Hall	2020	QT 18.2 H268 2021
Renal Physiology	6th	Koeppen and Stanton	2019	Renal Physiology
Molecular Cell Biology	9th	Lodish	2021	QU 300 M7185 2021
Guyton & Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology	14th	J. E. Hall & M. E. Hall	2020	Guyton & Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology
Primer of Diagnostic Imaging	6th	Harisinghani, Chen, and Weissleder	2020	Primer of Diagnostic Imaging

ClinicalKey
Clinical search engine that adapts to any screen size, helping you find fast answers and deep evidence from more than 1,000 full-text reference books, 600 full-text journals, videos, images and more.
Cochrane Library
Independent high quality evidence for health care decision making.
DynaMed
Database of clinical topic summaries, with grading the quality of evidence cited, designed primarily for point-of-care use. Use alongside UpToDate.

more...
Health Video Library
The Stanford Health Video Library programs feature prominent doctors presenting the latest health research. (Includes videos on YouTube and iTunes)
Journals@Ovid
Has over 400 full-text journals in nursing and related health areas including pharmacology, public health, and psychology, and from publishers such as AACN, ACSM, and APA. You can set up alerts for when your key journals publish new issues.
MEDLINE Ultimate (Ebsco)
MEDLINE Ultimate provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.
PubMed
UpToDate
The premier evidence-based clinical decision support resource to help healthcare practitioners make the right decisions at the point of care. It combines broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, ob/gyn, general surgery and pediatrics.

Required Texts

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Textbook of Physical Diagnosis	8th	Mark H. Swartz	2021	Textbook of Physical Diagnosis

Academic Search Complete
Full text journal articles covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. Updated on a daily basis.
JSTOR
Provides full text electronic access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

ProQuest Central

Proquest Central is the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today with articles available from more than 10,910 titles.

Spirituality in Patient Care: Why, How, When and What

There is emerging research that demonstrates the effect of one’s spiritual beliefs on general health and well-being. More and more information points to the necessity of doing a religious/spiritual profile on a patient—in addition to a physical and lifestyle assessment—in order to provide the optimum plan for health and healing. This book explains the whys, hows, whens, and whats of addressing these spiritual issues in a practical and concise format.

less...

This is a link to an ebook we have available in EBSCO.

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Resolving Ethical Dilemmas: A Guide for Clinicians	9th	Bernard Lo	2019
Medical Ethics: A Primer for Students		Robert D. Orr, M.D., C.M. and Fred Chay, DMin, PhD	2000	R 724 O7445 2000
Christian Medical & Dental Associations position statements				https://cmda.org/policy-issues-home/position-statements/

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online
Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine	4th	Seffinger, et al.	2018	Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine
Atlas of Osteopathic Techniques	4th	Nicholas and Nicholas	2023	Atlas of Osteopathic Techniques
OMT Review	4th	Savarese, et al.	2018	WB 18.2 O54 2018
An Osteopathic Approach to Children	2nd	Carreiro	2009
An Osteopathic Approach to Diagnosis and Treatment	4th	DiGiovanna, Amen, and Burns	2021	An Osteopathic Approach to Diagnosis and Treatment
Atlas of Common Counterstrain Tender Points	1st	Snider	2004	WB 940 S64 2014
Clinical Applications of Counterstrain	Compendium	Myers	2006
Evidence-Based Manual Medicine	1st	Hruby and Seffinger	2007	Evidence-Based Manual Medicine
Exploring Osteopathy in the Cranial Field	1st	Hruby	2013
Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine	2nd	Ward	2003	WB 940 F771 2003
Greenman's Principles of Manual Medicine	5th	DeStefano	2017	Greenman's Principles of Manual Medicine
Jones Strain-Counterstrain	1st	Jones, Kusunose, Goering	1995
Ligamentous Articular Strain	Revised	Speece	2009	WB 940 S66 2009
Myofascial Pain and Dysfunction: The Trigger Point Manual	3rd	Donnelly et al.	2018
Osteopathic Clinical Joint Exam	1st	Stockard	2010
Osteopathic Considerations in HEENT Disorders	1st	Kuchera and Kuchera	2012
Osteopathic Considerations in Systemic Dysfunction	2nd	Kuchera and Kuchera	1994
Osteopathic Medicine: A Core Concepts Approach	1st	Polman	2021
Outline of Osteopathic Manipulative Procedures: The Kimberly Manual	Millennium	Kimberly	2008	WB 940 K59 2008
Pediatric Manual Medicine: An Osteopathic Approach	1st	Carreiro	2009	Pediatric Manual Medicine: An Osteopathic Approach
Pocket Manual of OMT	2nd	Essig-Beatty, et al.	2011	Pocket Manual of OMT
The 5-Minute OMM Consult	2nd	Channell and Mason	2019	The 5-Minute OMM Consult
The Five Osteopathic Models: Rationale, Application, Integration - From and Evidence-Based to a Person-Centered Osteopathy	1st	Hruby	2017	RZ 342 H783 2015
The Muscle Energy Manual	1st	Mitchell	1995	WB 460 M681 2005
The Still Technique Manual	2nd	Van Buskirk	2006	WB 940 V221t 2006

OMS I: Spring

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Integrative Medical Biochemistry: Examination and Board Review	1^st	Michael W. King	2014	Integrative Medical Biochemistry
Basic Immunology – Functions and Disorders of the Immune System	6^th	A. K. Abbas, A. H. Lichtman, S. Pillai	2019	Basic Immunology
Medical Microbiology	9^th	Murray, Rosenthal, and Pfaller	2020	Medical Microbiology
Gastrointestinal Physiology	9^th	L. R. Johnson	2019	Gatrointestinal Physiology
Robbins & Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease	10^th	A. K. Abbas, N. Fausto, J. Aster	2020	Pathologic Basis of Disease
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology	15^th	B. Katzung	2021	Basic and Clinical Pharmacology
Larsen's Human Embryology	6^th	Carlson, Bruce M.	2020	Larsen's Human Embryology
Clinically Oriented Anatomy	9^th	K. Moore, A. Agur, A. Dalley	2021	Clinically Oriented Anatomy
Point of Care Ultrasound	2^nd	Nilam J. Soni	2019	Point of Care Ultrasound
Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine	4^th	M. Seffinger	2018	Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine
Histology: A Text and Atlas	8th	W. Pawlina and M. Ross	2020	Histology: A Text and Atlas
Atlas of Anatomy	8th	Netter	2022	Atlas of Anatomy
Grant's Dissector	17th	Detton	2020	Grant's Dissector

Recommended Text Resources (cont.)

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Abrahams' and McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy	8^th	Abrahams	2019	Abrahams and McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy
Atlas of Clinical Gross Anatomy	2nd	Moses	2013	Atlas of Clinical Gross Anatomy
Atlas of Anatomy	4th	Gilroy	2020	Atlas of Anatomy
Photographic Atlas of Anatomy	9th	Rohen	2022	Photographic Atlas of Anatomy
Goldman-Cecil Medicine	26^th	Goldman and Schafer	2020	Goldman-Cecil Medicine
Medical Physiology	^3rd	Boron and Boulpaep	2017	Medical Physiology
Textbook of Medical Physiology	14^th	Guyton and Hall	2020	Textbook of Medical Physiology
Nutrition: From Science to You	4^th	Blake, Munoz, and Volpe	2019	QU 145 B553 2019

Required Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine	4th	Seffinger	2018	Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine
Atlas of Osteopathic Techniques	4th	Nicholas and Nicholas	2022	Atlas of Osteopathic Techniques
OMT Review	4th	Savarese, et. al.	2018	WB 18.2 S265o 2018

Recommended Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Evidence-Based Manual Medicine	1^st	Hruby and Seffinger	2007	Evidence Based Manual Medicine
Greenman’s Principles of Manual Medicine	5^th	Greenman and Destefano	2016	Greenman's Principles of Manual Medicine
An Osteopathic Approach to Diagnosis and Treatment	4^th	DiGiovanna, Amen, and Burns	2020	An Osteopathic Approach to Diagnosis and Treatment
Pocket Manual of OMT	2^nd	Beatty	2010	Pocket Manual of OMT
The 5-Minute OMM Consult	2^nd	Channell and Mason	2020	The 5-Minute OMM Consult
Pediatric Manual Medicine: An Osteopathic Approach	1st	Carreiro	2009	WB 112 104 C314p 2009
The Kimberly Manual		Kimberly	2008	WB 940 K59 2008

Required Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Textbook of Physical Diagnosis, History and Physical Examination	8th	Mark H. Swartz	2021	Textbook of Physical Diagnosis, History and Physical Examination

Recommended Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Medical Ethics: A Primer for Students		Orr, Robert	2000	R 724 O7445 2000
Medical Law, Ethics, and Bioethics for the Health Professions		Marcia Lewis, Carol Tamparo, and Brenda Tatro	2012	WB 33 L485 2012
Christian Medical and Dental Association Position Statements				https://cmda.org/policy-issues-home/position-statements/

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology	5^th	BA White, JR Harrison, LM Mehlmann	2019	Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology
Guyton & Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology	14^th	JE Hall	2020	Guyton & Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology
Robbins & Cotran Pathologic Basis of disease	10^th	AK Abbas, N Fausto, J Aster	2020	Pathologic Basis of Disease
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology	15^th	B Katzung, A Trevor	2020	Basic and Clinical Pharmacology
Clinically Oriented Anatomy	9^th	K Moore, A Agur, A Dalley	2021	Clinically Oriented Anatomy
Point-of-Care ULTRASOUND	2^nd	NJ Soni, R Arntfield, P Kory	2019	Point-of-Care Ultrasound
Grant’s dissector	17^th	Alan J. Detton	2020	Grant's Dissector
Basic Immunology	6th	Abbas	2020	Basic Immunology
Netter's Atlas of Anatomy	8th	Netter	2022	Netter's Atlas of Anatomy
Larsen's Human Embryology	6th	Schoenwolf	2021	Larsen's Human Embryology

Recommended Materials

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Greenspan’s Basic and Clinical Endocrinology	10^th	D Gardner, D Shoback	2017	Greenspan's Basic and Clinical Endocrinology
Rohen Photographic Atlas of Anatomy	9th	Rohen	2022	Photographic Atlas of Anatomy
Medical Physiology	3^rd	W Boron, E Boulpaep	2017	Medical Physiology
Abrahams' & McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy	8th	Abrahams	2020	Abrahams' & McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy
Anatomy: A Regional Atlas of the Human Body	6th	Clemente	2010	QS 17 C626a 2011
Atlas of Anatomy	4th	Gilroy	2020	Atlas of Anatomy
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology	26th	Berrett, et. al.	2019	Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology
Guyton & Hall Physiology Review	4th	Hall	2020	QT 18.2 H268 2020

Required Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Clinically Oriented Anatomy	9^th	K. Moore, A. Agur, A Dalley	2021	Clinically Oriented Anatomy
Atlas of Human Anatomy	8th	Netter	2022	Atlas of Human Anatomy
Grant’s Dissector	17th	P.W. Tank	2016	Grant's Dissector
Histology: A Text and Atlas	8^th	M.H. Ross W. Pawlina	2018	Histology: A Text and Atlas
Larsen's Human Embryology	6th	Schoenwolf, Bleyl, Brauer, and Francis-West	2020	Larsen's Human Embryology
Neuroanatomy through Clinical Cases	3^rd	H. Blumenfeld	2021	WL 141 B658 2022
Neuroanatomy in Clinical Context: An Atlas of Structures, Sections and Syndromes	10^th	D. E. Haines	2018	Neuroanatomy in Clinical Context
Point of Care Ultrasound	2nd	N.J. Soni, R. Arntfield, P. Kory	2019	Point of Care Ultrasound

Recommended Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Anatomy: A Regional Atlas of the Human Body	6th	Clemente	2010	QS 17 C626a 2011
Atlas of Anatomy	4th	Gilroy	2020	Atlas of Anatomy
Abrahams' & McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy	8th	Abrahams	2007	Abrahams' and McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy
Photographic Atlas of Anatomy	9th	Rohen	2022	Photographic Atlas of Anatomy
Atlas of Clinical Gross Anatomy	2nd	Moses	2013	Atlas of Clinical Gross Anatomy

Required Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Renal Physiology	6th	B.M. Koeppen, B.A. Stanton	2019	WJ 301 K64 2018
Robbins & Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease	10th	A.K. Abbas, N. Fausto, J. Aster	2020	Pathologic Basis of Disease
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology	14th	B. Katzung, A. Trevor	2018	Basic and Clinical Pharmacology
Clinically Oriented Anatomy	8th	K. Moore, A. Agur, A. Dalley	2013	Clinically Oriented Anatomy
Histology: A Text and Atlas	8th	M. H. Ross, W. Pawlina	2018	Histology: A Text and Atlas

Recommended Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Physiology Review	3^rd	J.E. Hall	2016	QT 18.2 H268 2016
Textbook of Medical Physiology	13th	J.E. Hall	2016	Textbook of Medical Physiology
BRS Physiology	7th	L.S. Costanzo	2019	QT 18.2 C838p 2015
Grant’s Dissector	17th	A.J. Detton	2021	Grant's Dissector

Required Text Resources

Title

Edition

Authors

Year

Online at LUCOM

Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive
Medicine, and Public Health

^5th

Katz, D.L., Elmore, J.G., Wild, D.M.G., and Nelson, H.D.

2020

Jekel's Epidemiology

LUCOM Library: OMS I Course Guides

Summon Search

Search Summon

OMS I: Fall

OMS I: Spring

Required Text Resources