LibGuides: LUCOM Library: OMS II Course Guides

OMS II: Fall

AccessMedicine
A collection of 90 medical e-books, quick reference content, multimedia content, self-assessment tools and more.
ClinicalKey
Find evidence-based information for patient care, teaching, & learning from full-text materials created by Elsevier Inc. including: books, journals, guidelines, & multimedia.

more...

Required Texts

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Goldman Cecil Medicine	27th	Lee Goldman, Andrew I. Schafer	2024	Goldman-Cecil Medicine
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease	10th	Kumar, Abbas & Aster	2020	Pathologic Basis of Disease
Basic Immunology-Functions and Disorders of the Immune System	7th	Abbas, Lichtman, Pillai	2024	Basic Immunology
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology	16th	Katzung and Vanderah	2024	Basic and Clinical Pharmacology
Goodman and Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics	14th	Laurence L. Brunton, Björn C. Knollmann	2023	Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics

LWW Health Library
The LWW Health Library is your portal to trusted Lippincott content—including our most commonly required textbooks and multimedia assets—for use in medical sciences programs

Required & Recommended Texts

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine	4th	Seffinger	2018	Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine
Atlas of Common Counterstrain Tender Points	1st	Snider and Glover	2014	WB 940 S64 2014
Evidence-Based Manual Medicine	1st	Hruby and Seffinger	2007	Evidence Based Manual Medicine
An Osteopathic Approach to Diagnosis and Treatment	4th	DiGiovanna, Schiowitz, and Dowling	2021	An Osteopathic Approach to Diagnosis and Treatment
Atlas of Osteopathic Techniques	4th	Nicholas and Nicholas	2023	Atlas of Osteopathic Techniques
The 5-Minute OMM Consult	2nd	Channell and Mason	2019	The 5-Minute OMM Consult
Greenman's Principles of Manual Medicine	5th	Greenman and Destafano	2016	Greenman's Principles of Manual Medicine
Foundations for Osteopathic Medicine	2nd	Ward, et al	2003	WB 940 F771 2003
OMT Review	4th	Savarese, et. al.	2018	WB 18.2 S265o 2018
Pocket Manual of OMT	2nd	Essig-Beatty, et. al.	2011	Pocket Manual of OMT
The Kimberly Manual	Millenium	Kimberly	2008	WB 940 K59 2008
The Muscle Energy Manual	1st	Mitchell	1995	WB 460 M681 2005
Clinical Applications of Counterstrain	Compendium	Myers	2006	WB 947 M996 2012
Osteopathic Medicine: A Core Concepts Approach	1st	Polman	2021	WB 940 P65 2021
Atlas of Common Counterstrain Tender Points	1st	Snider	2014	WB 940 S64 2014
Ligamentous Articular Strain	Revised	Speece	2009
Osteopathic Clinical Joint Exam	1st	Stockard	2010
The Still Technique Manual	2nd	Van Buskirk	2006	WB 940 V221t 2006
Pediatric Manual Medicine	1st	Carreiro	2009
Osteopathic Clinical Joint Exam	1st	Stockard	2010

ClinicalKey
Clinical search engine that adapts to any screen size, helping you find fast answers and deep evidence from more than 1,000 full-text reference books, 600 full-text journals, videos, images and more.
Cochrane Library
Independent high quality evidence for health care decision making.
DynaMed
Database of clinical topic summaries, with grading the quality of evidence cited, designed primarily for point-of-care use. Use alongside UpToDate.

more...
Health Video Library
The Stanford Health Video Library programs feature prominent doctors presenting the latest health research. (Includes videos on YouTube and iTunes)
Journals@Ovid
Has over 400 full-text journals in nursing and related health areas including pharmacology, public health, and psychology, and from publishers such as AACN, ACSM, and APA. You can set up alerts for when your key journals publish new issues.
MEDLINE Ultimate
MEDLINE Ultimate provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.
PubMed
UpToDate
The premier evidence-based clinical decision support resource to help healthcare practitioners make the right decisions at the point of care. It combines broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, ob/gyn, general surgery and pediatrics.

Required Text

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Textbook of Physical Diagnosis, History and Physical Examination	8th	Mark H. Swartz	2021	Textbook of Physical Diagnosis, History and Physical Examination

Academic Search Complete
Full text journal articles covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. Updated on a daily basis.
JSTOR
Provides full text electronic access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

ProQuest Central

Proquest Central is the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today with articles available from more than 10,910 titles.

Required and Recommended Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Resolving Ethical Dilemmas: A Guide for Clinicians	6th	Bernard Lo	2019
Medical Ethics: A Primer for Students		Orr and Chay	2000	R 724 O7445 2000
Medical Law, Ethics, and Bioethics for the Health Professions	8th	Tamparo	2022	WB 33 L485 2022
Christian Medical and Dental Association Position Statements				https://cmda.org/policy-issues-home/position-statements/

AccessMedicine
A collection of 90 medical e-books, quick reference content, multimedia content, self-assessment tools and more.
ClinicalKey
Clinical search engine that adapts to any screen size, helping you find fast answers and deep evidence from more than 1,000 full-text reference books, 600 full-text journals, videos, images and more.
DynaMed
Database of clinical topic summaries, with grading the quality of evidence cited, designed primarily for point-of-care use. Use alongside UpToDate.

more...
UpToDate
The premier evidence-based clinical decision support resource to help healthcare practitioners make the right decisions at the point of care. It combines broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, ob/gyn, general surgery and pediatrics.

Required Texts

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Robbins & Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease	10th	A.K. Abbas, N. Fausto, J. Aster	2020	Pathologic Basis of Disease
Clinical Dermatology: A Color Guide to Diagnosis and Therapy	7th	T.F. Habif	2021	Habif's Clinical Dermatology
Goldman-Cecil Medicine	27th	Lee Goldman, Andrew Schafer	2024	Goldman-Cecil Medicine
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology	16th	Vanderah	2024	Basic and Clinical Pharmacology
Rheumatology	7th	Hochberg, et al.	2019	Rheumatology
Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Rheumatology	4th	Stone	2021	Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Rheumatology
Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics	14th	Azar, Beaty	2022	Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics
Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Orthopaedics	6th	Skinner, McMahon	2021	Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Orthopaedics
Point of Care Ultrasound	2nd	Soni, Arntfield, Kory	2019	Point of Care Ultrasound
Goodman and Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Terapeutics	14th	Laurence L. Brunton, Björn C. Knollmann	2023	Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics

DynaMed
Database of clinical topic summaries, with grading the quality of evidence cited, designed primarily for point-of-care use. Use alongside UpToDate.

more...
Thieme MedOne Education
73 Textbooks and color atlases in anatomy, medicine, and the life sciences.
UpToDate
The premier evidence-based clinical decision support resource to help healthcare practitioners make the right decisions at the point of care. It combines broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, ob/gyn, general surgery and pediatrics.

Required and Recommended Texts

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Goldman-Cecil Medicine	27th	Lee Goldman, Andrew Schafer	2024	Goldman-Cecil Medicine
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease	10th	Kumar, Abbas & Aster	2020	Pathologic Basis of Disease
Fuster and Hurst's The Heart	15th	V. Fuster et al.	2022	Hurst's The Heart
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology	16th	Vanderah	2024	Basic and Clinical Pharmacology
Rapid Interpretation of EKGs	6th	Dubin	2000	WG 18.2 D814R 2000
Primer of Diagnostic Imaging	6th	Harisinghani, Chen, Weissleder	2020	Primer of Diagnostic Imaging
Point of Care Ultrasound	2nd	N.J. Soni, Arntfiled, P. Kory	2019	Point of Care Ultrasound

AccessMedicine
A collection of 90 medical e-books, quick reference content, multimedia content, self-assessment tools and more.
ClinicalKey
Find evidence-based information for patient care, teaching, & learning from full-text materials created by Elsevier Inc. including: books, journals, guidelines, & multimedia.

more...
DynaMed
Database of clinical topic summaries, with grading the quality of evidence cited, designed primarily for point-of-care use. Use alongside UpToDate.

more...
UpToDate
The premier evidence-based clinical decision support resource to help healthcare practitioners make the right decisions at the point of care. It combines broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, ob/gyn, general surgery and pediatrics.

Required and Recommended Texts

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Guyton & Hall Physiology Review	4th	J.E. Hall	2020	QT 18.2 H268 2016
Cecil Essentials of Medicine	19th	E.J. Wing & F.J. Schiffman	2016	Cecil Essentials of Medicine
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease	10th	A. K. Abbas, N. Fausto, J. Aster	2014	Pathologic Basis of Disease
Medical Microbiology	9th	Murray, Rosenthal and Pfaller	2020	Medical Microbiology
Basics of Fluid, Electrolyte and Acid Base Disturbances and Management for Medical Students and Residents	2nd	Joseph, Bose, and Sinkovich; Bighma (illus.)	2022	WK 18.2 J674 2021
Primer of Diagnositc Imaging	6th	R. Weissleder and J. Wittenberg	2013	Primer of Diagnostic Imagine
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology	16th	Vanderah	2024	Basic and Clinical Pharmacology
Renal Physiology	6th	Koeppen and Stanton	2019	Renal Physiology

OMS II: Spring

Required and Recommended Course Resources

Required Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Photographic Atlas of Anatomy	9^th	Rohen	2022	Photographic Atlas of Anatomy
Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy	9^th	Dalley, Agur	2023	Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy
Robbins & Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease	10^th	A. K. Abbas, N. Fausto, J. Aster	2020	Pathologic Basis of Disease
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology	15^th	B. Katzung	2021	Basic and Clinical Pharmacology
Guyton & Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology	14^nd	Hall	2021	Guyton & Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology
Goldman-Cecil Medicine	26th	Goldman	2020	Goldman-Cecil Medicine

Recommended Text Resources (cont.)

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Greenburger's Current Diagnosis & Treatment Gastroenterology, Hepatology, & Endoscopy	4^th	Friedman, Blumberg, and Saltzman	2022	Greenburger's Current Diagnosis & Treatment Gastroenterology, Hepatology, & Endoscopy
Larsen's Human Embryology	6^th	Schoenwolf	2020	Larsen's Human Embryology
Grant's Dissector	17^th	Detton	2021	Grant's Dissector
Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease	11^th	Feldman, Friedman, and Brandt	2021	Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease
Sabiston Textbook of Surgery	21^st	Townsend et al.	2022	Sabiston Textbook of Surgery
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2022		Ferri	2022	Ferri's Clinical Advisor
Ferri's Differential Diagnosis	2^nd	Ferri	2011	Ferri's Differential Diagnosis

Required Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine	4^th	Seffinger et al	2018	Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine
Atlas of Osteopathic Techniques	4^th	Nicholas and Nicholas	2023	Atlas of Osteopathic Techniques
OMT review	4^th	Savarese	2019	WB 18.2 S265o 2018

Recommended Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Evidence-Based Manual Medicine	1^st	Hruby and Seffinger	2007	Evidence-Based Manual Medicine
Greenman’s Principles of Manual Medicine	5^th	Greenman and DeStefano	2016	Greenman's Principles of Manual Medicine
An Osteopathic Approach to Diagnosis and Treatment	4^th	DiGiovanna, Amen, and Burns	2020	An Osteopathic Approach to Diagnosis and Treatment
Pocket Manual of OMT	2^nd	Beatty	2010	Pocket Manual of OMT
The 5-Minute OMM Consult	2^nd	Channell and Mason	2020	The 5-Minute OMM Consult
Foundations for Osteopathic Medicine	2^nd	Ward, et al	2002	WB 940 F771 2003
The Kimberly Manual		Kimberly	2006	WB 940 K59 2008
Clinical Application of Counterstrain		Myers	2012	WB 947 M996 2012
Osteopathic Medicine: A Core Concepts Approach		Polman	2021	WB 940 P65 2021
Atlas of Common Counterstrain Tender Points	1st		2014	WB 940 S64 2014
Ligamentious Articular Strain		Speece	2009
Osteopathic Clinical Joint Exam	1st	Stockard	2010
The Still Technique Manual	2nd	Van Buskirk	2006	WB 940 V221t 2006

Required Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Textbook of Physical Diagnosis, History and Physical Examination	8th	Mark H. Swartz	2021	Textbook of Physical Diagnosis, History and Physical Examination

Required Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Clinical Ethics: A Practical Approach to Ethical Decisions in Clinical Medicine	9th	Jonsen & Winslade	2022	Clinical Ethics

Recommended Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Medical Ethics: A Primer for Students		Orr & Chay	2000	R 724 O7445 2000

Required Texts

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Goldman-Cecil Medicine	26th	Goldman & Schafer	2020	Goldman-Cecil Medicine
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease	10th	Abbas & Aster	2020	Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology	15th	Katzung & Trevor	2021	Basic and Clinical Pharmacology
Clinically Oriented Anatomy	9th	Moore, Agur & Dalley	2023	Clinically Oriented Anatomy

Recommended Texts

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Endocrine Secrets	7th	Mcdermott	2020	Endocrine Secrets

Required Texts

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Obstetrics and Gynecology	8th	Beckman, et al.	2018	Obstetrics and Gynecology
APGO Medical Student Resources – including Medical Student Objectives and Cases, u-WISE Questions, and APGO Videos		APGO.org	2016
Clinically Oriented Anatomy	9th	Moore		Clinically Oriented Anatomy
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease	10th	Kumar, Abbas & Aster	2020	Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease

Recommended Texts

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Williams Obstetrics	26th	Cunningham, et. al.	2022	William's Obstetrics
Comprehensive Gynecology	8th	Lobo	2022	Comprehensive Gynecologoy
Gabbe's Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies	8th	Landon, et. al.	2021	Gabbe's Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies

Required Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Neuroanatomy through Clinical Cases	3^rd	H. Blumfield	2022	WLv141 B658 2022
Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry	7^th	Black & Andreasen et al.	2021	Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology	15^th	B. Katzung, S. Masters, A. Trevor	2021	Basic and Clinical Pharmacology
Goldman-Cecil Medicine	26^th	Goldman et al.	2020	Goldman-Cecil Medicine
Clinically Oriented Anatomy	9^th	K. Moore, A. Agur, A Dalley	2023	Clinically Oriented Anatomy
Medical Microbiology	9^th	Murray, Rosenthal & Pfaller	2021	Medical Microbiology
Primer of Diagnostic Imaging	6^th	R. Weissleder and J. Wittenberg	2019	Primer of Diagnostic Imaging
Robbins & Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease	10^th	A. K. Abbas, N. Fausto, J. Aster	2020	Pathologic Basis of Disease
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5tr)	5th	American Psychiatric Association	2022	Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5tr)

Required Text Resources:

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics	9th	Robert Kliegman, Karen Marcdante	2023	Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics
Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine	4th	Seffinger	2018	Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine

Required Text Resources

Title	Edition	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology	14^th	B. Katzung, A. Trevor	2017	Basic and Clinical Pharmacologoy
Goldman-Cecil Medicine	26^th	Lee Goldman MD & Andrew I. Schafer MD	2020	Goldman-Cecil Medicine

Required Text Resources

Title	Authors	Year	Online at LUCOM
Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support	American Heart Association	2020	WG 205 A2441 2022

Optional Reference Materials:

AHA’s 2020 Handbook of Emergency Cardiovascular Care for Healthcare Providers (optional)

You may wish to purchase the AHA’s 2020 Handbook of Emergency Cardiovascular Care for Healthcare Providers (optional). You may bring this to use as a reference guide during the stations in the course. An overview of this book and instructions on purchasing it can be found at:

Print - https://shopcpr.heart.org/2020-handbook-of-ecc
Digital - https://shopcpr.heart.org/2020-handbook-of-ecc-ebook

This is a great, optional study tool, but it does not take the place of the ACLS Provider manual.

AHA’s ACLS Digital Reference Cards (optional)

These are handy, digital reference cards you can keep with you while on your clerkship rotations. These cards are available from the AHA at: https://shopcpr.heart.org/acls-digital-reference-card-set. As an important note, these cards come digitally with the ACLS eBook purchase.

LUCOM Library: OMS II Course Guides

Search Summon

Search Summon

OMS II: Fall

OMS II: Spring