Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Health Statistics & Data
AAMC Physician Specialty Data Book 2018
Published biennially, this Center for Workforce Studies report provides the most current data available about the active physicians and physicians in training. A series of figures and tables provide detailed statistics on active U.S. physicians and physicians in residency and fellowship programs, who are in the 41 largest specialty groups.
A series of reports produced by the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics. Most current data from 2012. Information includes demographics, health conditions, expenditures and more.
AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality)
AHRQ collects clinical information, research findings, funding opportunities, data and surveys, data on specific populations, consumers & patients and on patient safety. Some AHRQ data not available for free is available at Duke through the Triangle Census Research Data Center - http://econ.duke.edu/tcrdc
American Cancer Society Statistics
Statistics include site-specific, prevention, detection, and minority group cancer incidence from 1997 to present. A limited number are in provided in Spanish.
Atlas of United States Mortality
The first publication in map format to show all leading causes of death, by race and sex for small geographic areas of the United States.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
A state-based system of health surveys that collects information monthly on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury. For many states, the BRFSS is the only available source of timely, accurate data on health-related behaviors.
Cancer Trends Progress Report
Summarizes our nation's progress against cancer in relation to "Healthy People" targets set forth by the Department of Health and Human Services. The report includes key measures of progress along the cancer control continuum and uses national trend data to illustrate where advances have been made.
Access statistical research data, reports and guidelines on health-related topics; Query numeric data sets via "fill-in-the blank" web pages. Public-use data sets about mortality, cancer incidence, HIV and AIDS, tuberculosis, vaccinations, natality, census data and many other topics are available for query, and the requested data are readily summarized & analyzed, with dynamically calculated statistics, charts and maps.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
Statistics, data and reports for Medicare & Medicaid Services, including, budgets, expenditures, enrollment, claims, satisfaction surveys and audits.
Child Health USA
National and state level statistics on children and their families. Health, economic, behavioral and social, and educational indicators are included, in addition to international comparisons.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
The overall health of more than 3000 U.S. counties. Using a system that evaluates morbidity and mortality, health behaviors, clinical care, social/economic factors, and physical environment. Statistical data and interactive county maps for all 50 states. Released in April 2012.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
Covers national, regional, and local statistical information on physician distribution, hospital capacity, common diagnostic and surgical procedures, and reimbursements.
FastStats A to Z
From the CDC and National Center for Health Statistics - quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
Health, United States, 2014
The Secretary of HHS's report on the nation's health. Presents national trends in health statistics. Major findings are summarized in the Highlights section; each issue contains a chartbook with detailed tables focusing on a major health topic. Data derived from the CDC and the NCHS on population, fertility, mortality, measures of health, facilities, exercise, nutrition, etc.
The Healthcare Bluebook is a guide to help you determine
fair prices in your area for healthcare services.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (H-CUPnet)
Statistics on hospital stays, discharges, surgical procedures and diagnostic tests. Reports are at the national, regional, and state level. Returns results from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample, the largest inhospital sample of discharge records in the US with over 1,000 hospitals reporting. Also covers the Kids Inpatient Database and State Inpatient Databases and the State Emergency Department Databases. Data years are available from 1997; trend information since 1993.
Health Data Tools and Statistics -
A compilation of many great resources. A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries.
Healthy People 2000: Final Review
Published October 2001 and is the last report in the Healthy People 2000 series. Provides annual data, if available, in all priority areas Identified in Healthy People 2000: National Health Promotion and Disease Prevention (published in 1991) and follows the progress throughout the decade.
Health Statistics & Data
Hospital Care Intensity Index (HCI)
A data tool from the Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care that reflects both the amount of time spent in hospital and the intensity of physician services delivered in the hospital. There are three basic reports: the Medicare Spending Report; the Resource Allocation Report; and the Patient Experience Report.
The information is provided primarily by hospitals participating in a national project called the Hospital Quality Alliance: Improving Care Through Information (HQA). Hospitals agree to submit and report additional quality and safety information for public reporting. It includes data on how often hospitals follow best practices for patients with heart attack, heart failure or pneumonia.
Health Services Research Information Central (HSRIC)
Compilation of links for data sets, repositories, and data tools.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey
Data on the specific health services that Americans use, how frequently they use them, the cost of these services, and how they are paid for, as well as data on the cost, scope, and breadth of health insurance held by and available to U.S. workers.
Minority Physicians - American Medical Association Statistics
Demographic data on minority physicians compiled from various sources. Currently 2016
National Center for Health Statistics
National health care surveys, injury data, national death index, nutrition, vital statistics, etc.
National Health Statistics Reports
From the CDC/National Center for Health Statistics, these reports provide annual data summaries on a wide variety of health topics (healthy eating, falls, ambulatory care, infectious disease, supplements, etc).
National Vital Statistics Reports
Regular issues cover provisional birth, death, marriage, and divorce statistics.
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs, and more in communities across the US. Create a free account make maps, tables, and reports.
State Health Statistics - MMWR
Data for selected nationally notifiable diseases reported by the 50 states. Tables for Morbidity and Mortality, searchable by year and week.
Provides data on more than 500 health topics. A project of the Kaiser Family Foundation.
Vital and Health Statistics
Individual reports published from surveys and studies conducted by the NCHS. Consists of irregularly issued subseries focusing on various health reports such as Mortality Trends for Alzheimer's Disease and Serum Lipids of Adults 20-74 Years: United States. This "Rainbow" series contains the National Health Interview Survey, National Health Examination Survey (NHANES), Hospital Discharge Survey, and the National Ambulatory Medical Survey.
Women Physicians - American Medical Association Statistics
Information on women physicians and medical students such as income information, specialties, and age. Data from early to mid 2000s.
National Environmental Public Health Tracking Network (Tracking Network)
A system of integrated health, exposure, and hazard information and data from a variety of national, state, and city sources.